H.R. No. 917

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the Texas Lyceum Association on the occasion of its 25th 3 anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Following the tradition Aristotle established with the Lyceum of ancient Athens, the Texas Lyceum Association was created in 1980 to address the critical questions facing Texas through open debate and discussion among its members; and

8 WHEREAS, The Texas Lyceum brings together individuals with 9 diverse opinions and expertise for the benefit of state leaders, 10 ensuring Texas a place in the forefront of our nation's journey into 11 the 21st century; and

12 WHEREAS, The association seeks to identify and develop the 13 next generation of top leadership in Texas and to promote 14 stewardship of the values, traditions, and resources of our state; 15 and

16 WHEREAS, Former members of the association include such 17 luminaries as President George W. Bush, John Sharp, United States 18 Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, and Lena Guerrero; the membership is 19 a diverse group that includes doctors, lawyers, government 20 officials, artists, and clergy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Texas Lyceum Association on the occasion of the organization's 25th anniversary and honor them for 25 years of meritorious service to Texas; and, be

1

H.R. No. 917

1 it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the organization as an expression of esteem by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 917

Menendez

H.R. No. 917

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 917 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House