H.R. No. 918

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Senior Patrol Agent Ryan Massey of Del Rio was 2 awarded the highest medal of valor bestowed by U.S. Customs and 3 Border Protection on January 7, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Agent Massey received the Meritorious Service Award for Valor for his heroic actions on the evening of March 14, 2004, when his Border Patrol Search, Trauma, and Rescue unit received a call from the Uvalde County Sheriff's Office; six travelers in a car had been swept into the flooding waters of Blanco Creek, and four members of the party were missing; and

10 WHEREAS, After receiving word from troopers who had spotted a 11 woman and three children clinging to a tree in the middle of the 12 rising waters, Agent Massey quickly tied a line from shore to hooks 13 clipped to his vest and entered the rough waters upstream of the 14 victims; he allowed the current to carry him to the victims' 15 location, where he proceeded to ferry the woman and children, one by 16 one, to safety on solid ground; and

WHEREAS, Those individuals who place themselves in harm's way to protect their fellow Texans are truly deserving of our deepest admiration and gratitude, and Agent Ryan Massey indeed merits special recognition for his continued readiness to meet the most challenging crisis head on; now, therefore, be it

22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Senior Patrol Agent Ryan Massey on 24 his receipt of the Meritorious Service Award for Valor from U.S.

1

H.R. No. 918 1 Customs and Border Protection and commend him for his remarkable 2 heroism; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Agent Massey as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

## H.R. No. 918

Menendez

H.R. No. 918

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 918 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House