H.R. No. 930

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, After 36 years of exemplary public service, Emilio 2 Salmon of Marathon stepped down from his position as a Brewster 3 County commissioner in January 2005, and it is indeed fitting to 4 honor this remarkable man for his many outstanding achievements; 5 and

WHEREAS, Initially elected in 1968, Mr. Salmon has witnessed 6 innumerable changes over the course of his political career; as a 7 young Hispanic boy growing up in West Texas, he often encountered 8 discrimination, such as when he and other Mexican Americans were 9 prohibited from entering public restaurants in his community; 10 11 although it was largely unheard of in that day for a Hispanic to 12 serve in public office, he was determined to find a way to effect 13 change in the community, and, after narrowly losing a contested 14 election in 1964, he won by 85 votes four years later; and

WHEREAS, Once elected, he approached all projects with an eye toward justice and toward correcting racial inequities for the good of the entire community; by ensuring that funding was allocated equally to Hispanic and Anglo sections of town, he gradually won the confidence and respect of his fellow commissioners and all of his constituents; and

21 WHEREAS, Mr. Salmon played a key role in the completion of 22 numerous infrastructure projects, including paving, sewer system 23 improvements, water development, housing rehabilitation, and 24 recreational facility improvements; he was instrumental on the

1

H.R. No. 930

1 commissioners courts that authorized the building of a new Brewster 2 County Jail, the Courthouse Annex, the Marathon Emergency Response Center, and the South Brewster County Community Center and the 3 4 renovation of the Old Post Office; working consistently to keep taxes and the costs of basic services as low as possible, he 5 6 remained mindful of the difficulties faced by elderly citizens with 7 fixed incomes; he also actively championed programs for children 8 and young people during his years of service; and

9 WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Mr. Salmon has benefited from 10 the love and support of his wife of 52 years, Lupe Salmon, as well as 11 his four children, Joe, Maria, Priscilla, and Gracie; and

WHEREAS, An unlikely prospect for a successful political life, this ranch hand's son who quit school in the sixth grade and taught himself English has had a profound impact on the lives of his fellow citizens, helping to transform his community into a more equitable place for all of its residents; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 18 Legislature hereby commend Emilio Salmon for nearly four decades of 19 service as a county commissioner for Brewster County and 20 acknowledge the rich legacy of honesty, integrity, and fairness 21 that he brought to that office; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Salmon as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 930

Menendez

H.R. No. 930

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 930 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House