H.R. No. 932

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to welcome the visiting delegation from Rio Bravo, including Mayor Juan G. Gonzalez, to the State Capitol on this day, March 30, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Formed in April 1982, Rio Bravo has risen above myriad challenges and undergone a host of positive changes in the past 23 years; the community has been transformed from a colonia into a blossoming city thanks to the diligent efforts of local public servants who endeavor to forge better lives for area citizens by meeting emerging issues head on; and

WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of city leaders, Rio Bravo has accomplished much in recent years; the city overcame a deficit and reached financial stability in January 2005, and residents may look forward to the opening of a new community park and Boys and Girls Club in the days ahead; and

WHEREAS, Moreover, incoming businesses continue to stimulate the local economy, and the area population, which has grown from 500 residents to nearly 8,000, will soon be served by new water, wastewater, sewer, and storm drain systems; the community also boasts two elementary schools and a middle school, and medical care is now available seven days a week to those in need; and

WHEREAS, Citizens of Rio Bravo can take great pride in their prospering South Texas town, for the future is indeed bright for the city and its residents; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 932

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize March 30, 2005, as Rio Bravo Day at the
State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to all Rio Bravo
residents on this noteworthy occasion; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for those individuals from Rio Bravo visiting on this day

an expression of high regard by the Texas House of

7

8

Representatives.

Guillen

TT T	1 T -	033
H	NO	$\mathbf{G} \times \mathbf{J}$

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 932 was adopted by the House on March 30, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House