H.R. No. 972

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Van High School boys' basketball team has captured its first state title since 1942, winning the UIL 3A State Championship at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin on March 12, 2005;

4 and

WHEREAS, The Vandals defeated a tough and talented Graham
High School team by a score of 62-41; relying on tenacious defense
and timely shooting, the Vandals claimed the coveted championship
crown in front of an excited crowd of enthusiastic fans; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jerry Cassell schooled the Vandals in hardwood fundamentals and emphasized the importance of teamwork and sportsmanship throughout the long season; he was ably supported in the performance of his duties by assistant coaches Jeff Hutchins, Rick Jones, Mike Cassell, and Dustin White, each of whom made a valuable contribution to the team's success; and

WHEREAS, The senior-laden squad includes championship game MVP Brandon Roberts, fellow seniors Grant McMillan, Kacey McCauley, Cory Foster, Beau Garland, Marcus Brown, Cody Huffman, Andrew Thompson, Kenny Ghormley, and Wade Mackey, juniors Dalvin Davis, Duncan McFarland, and Chris Gossett, and freshman Jermie Calhoun; and

WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the culmination of countless hours of hard work and dedication to a common goal, and the memory of this accomplishment will remain with these young men and their coaches for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 972

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 1 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Jerry Cassell and the Van
- 3 Vandals for winning the UIL 3A State Championship and extend best
- 4 wishes to the many individuals who contributed to the team's
- 5 success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6
- 7 prepared for the team and its coaches as an expression of high
- regard by the Texas House of Representatives. 8

Flynn

TT	_	7. T	0.72
н	ν	NO	α / /

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 972 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House