H.R. No. 993

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Since 1987, the number of children in foster care in the United States has doubled; currently, more than a half million American youths are living in foster homes because they cannot live with their birth parents, often as a result of abuse or neglect; and WHEREAS, In Travis County alone, while nearly 1,300 area youths are in foster care, including emergency shelters, individual family homes, group homes, therapeutic homes, and residential

8 facilities, the number of available foster parents runs perilously 9 low; accordingly, the Travis County Children's Protective Services 10 Board has identified the recruitment and retention of foster and 11 adoptive parents as a priority initiative for the community; and

WHEREAS, National Foster Care Month will be observed in May to honor the generous and compassionate individuals who serve as foster parents and to call attention to the invaluable services they perform and the need for more foster parents; and

WHEREAS, Every child has the right to learn and grow in a safe 16 environment and receive proper care and protection; 17 those individuals who open their homes and hearts to children whose 18 families are in crisis play a vital role in helping those children 19 heal and launching them into successful adulthood, and it is a 20 21 privilege to recognize foster parents in the community as well as to 22 acknowledge the vital efforts of the volunteers and staff who work 23 within the county foster care system; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

H.R. No. 993

Legislature hereby extend profound appreciation to the foster families of Travis County and the organizations and staff that support the foster care system and encourage citizens to get involved as foster parents, advocates, mentors, and volunteers, or in the myriad other ways that they can positively affect the lives of these deserving young Texans.

Dukes

H.R. No. 993

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 993 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House