H.R. No. 1015

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, With the passing of Robert S. Morris on March 14, 2 2005, at the age of 71, the people of San Antonio have lost a highly 3 regarded architect whose work included numerous homes, the 4 Ecumenical Center for Religion and Health, and plans for the Alamo 5 grounds; and

6 WHEREAS, A native of San Antonio, Mr. Morris was born into a 7 family whose forebears include one of the original Canary Island 8 families who founded the city's first municipal government; and

9 WHEREAS, This proud Texan attended Phillips Exeter Academy, 10 where he was named a Prep School All-American swimmer, and received 11 both bachelor's and master's degrees in architecture from Stanford 12 University, where he was a varsity team swimmer; and

WHEREAS, After completing his army service as a field artillery officer and later in military intelligence, he returned to his hometown and established a successful career as an architect known for exceptional skill and creative vision; and

WHEREAS, Other structures that he designed include the Southwest Airlines Reservation Center and Saint Mary's Hall Chapel Theater, and he directed the renovation of the Chapel House at the Bishop Jones Center of the Diocese of West Texas, Capers Hall at St. Mark's Episcopal Church, and the gift store at the Alamo, where he served as staff architect for that venerable Texas site; and

23 WHEREAS, Mr. Morris devoted a significant amount of time to 24 the Episcopal Church, serving with the diocesan development

1

committee and the Mustang Island Conference Center development committee and chairing the diocesan commission of church building, and he was senior warden at both St. Mark's and Christ Episcopal Churches; among many career-related and civic affiliations, he was a past president of the Order of the Alamo, the San Antonio German Club, the Conopus Club of San Antonio, and The Argyle; and

7 WHEREAS, Robert Morris was a gracious and giving gentleman 8 who made a lasting contribution to his community through his work 9 and his civic involvement; he will be deeply missed, but his memory 10 will live on in the hearts of his loved ones; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 11 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Robert S. Morris and 12 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife of 13 14 45 years, Lillian Padgitt Morris; to his children and their 15 spouses, Catherine and Hans Helland, Hannah Morris, and James and Sally Morris; to his grandchildren, Sarah and Will Helland and Lily 16 17 and Zoe Morris; to his brothers, John Gideon Morris, Jr., Thomas Joseph Morris, and David and Michael Gaines; and to his other 18 relatives and many friends; and, be it further 19

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Robert S. 23 Morris.

Straus

H.R. No. 1015

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1015

Menendez

H.R. No. 1015

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1015 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 7, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House