H.R. No. 1017

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Frank Phillips College Lady Plainsmen 2 volleyball team has earned recognition as one of the premiere 3 junior college sports teams in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Plainsmen have dominated the Western Junior College Athletic Conference over the past four years, capturing the conference championship from 2001 to 2004; the team, which has produced three National Junior College Athletic Association All-Americans, has won the NJCAA Region V Championship each of the past three seasons and has earned three consecutive national top-10 rankings; and

WHEREAS, Led by second-year coach Cara Adams, the Lady Plainsmen have compiled an overall record of 121-33 over the past four seasons, including an impressive 17-1 conference mark, and their remarkable success has earned them invitations to the 2002, 2003, and 2004 NJCAA National Volleyball Tournaments; and

16 WHEREAS, In 2004, the Lady Plainsmen featured four WJCAC 17 All-Conference players: Jacqualin Doss, Britney Dunlap, Tiffany 18 Shedrock, and Marcie LeGrand; moreover, the team has produced 15 19 All-Region players, 20 WJCAC All-Conference players, and four WJCAC 20 Most Valuable Players in the last four seasons; and

21 WHEREAS, Athletic excellence is a hallmark of Frank Phillips 22 College, helping to promote teamwork, character, and discipline 23 among the school's student-athletes, and the school's commitment to 24 sports and academics has established a strong foundation for the

1

H.R. No. 1017

1 future success of its students; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Frank Phillips College Lady Plainsmen volleyball team on its outstanding achievements and extend best wishes for continued success to athletic director John Green, coach Cara Adams, and the members of the team; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Lady Plainsmen volleyball team as an expression of
high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Swinford Chisum

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1017

Menendez

H.R. No. 1017

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1017 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House