H.R. No. 1020

By: Craddick

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On April 23, 2005, many proud Texans are 2 participating in a Founder's Day celebration to mark the 100th 3 anniversary of Lamesa's election as the county seat of Dawson 4 County; and

5 WHEREAS, Created from Bexar Territory by an act of the Texas 6 Legislature in 1876, Dawson County is named for Captain Nicholas 7 Mosby Dawson, a pioneer settler from La Grange, who was captured and 8 killed by a Mexican military force in 1842; and

9 WHEREAS, Administratively, Dawson County was attached to 10 Howard County for judicial purposes, but in 1905, residents decided 11 it was time they had a county seat of their own; the Howard County 12 Commissioners Court granted a petition signed by 150 Dawson County 13 voters, and the communities of Lamesa and Chicago vigorously sought 14 the honor, each offering a full slate of candidates for county and 15 precinct officers; and

16 WHEREAS, Lamesa won the March 20, 1905, election by just five 17 votes; residents of the two towns immediately embarked on a 18 collaboration that resulted in free lots offered by Lamesa to 19 Chicago merchants, and a cooperative moving event that relocated 20 houses and stores to the new county seat; the first meeting of the 21 Dawson County Commissioners Court convened on April 4, 1905; and

22 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Dawson County residents have 23 demonstrated a spirit of unity that has fostered a prosperous 24 county where residents may enjoy living, working, and raising their

1

H.R. No. 1020

1 families; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate all those involved with the centennial of Lamesa becoming the county seat of Dawson County and extend best wishes to all residents for a meaningful and memorable observance; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the City of Lamesa as an expression of high regard by
the Texas House of Representatives.