By: Hamilton H.R. No. 1036

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Reigning 3A state champion Kountze High School set a
2 new standard of excellence for future generations of Lions
3 basketball teams after winning a second consecutive state title at
4 the 2005 UIL state basketball championship tournament; and
5 WHEREAS. The Lions claimed the UIL 2A state crown with an

WHEREAS, The Lions claimed the UIL 2A state crown with an impressive 77-64 victory over the Tuscola Jim Ned Indians to finish their season with a remarkable 36-2 record; the team scored a hard-fought 69-53 win against Salado in the regional semifinals before advancing to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, Under the guidance of head coach Duane Joubert, the Lions relied on tenacious defense and timely offense throughout the tournament; in addition to the dedicated efforts of Coach Joubert, assistant coaches Ben West, Chad Luttrull, Chris Baggett, and Joey Brown also made valuable contributions during the long season; and

WHEREAS, Team members include tournament MVP Ashton Hall, fellow seniors Randall Harper, Phillip Coffey, Keyston Meyers, and Jon Bigalow, juniors Paul Winger, Shay Cole, Jon Puckitt, and Adrian Lee, and sophomores Freddie Haynes, Fred Boykins, Chance Hanna, Cam Powell, Trey Irvine, and Cody Lee; and

20 WHEREAS, These talented student-athletes will remember this 21 achievement for years to come, looking back with pride at this 22 pivotal moment in their lives, and it is indeed a pleasure to 23 commend them on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

H.R. No. 1036

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Duane Joubert and the Kountze
- 2 High School Lions basketball team for winning the UIL 2A state
- 3 championship and extend best wishes to all those who have
- 4 contributed to the team's success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.