H.R. No. 1037

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Wayne Prouse of Orange County has demonstrated an 2 impressive commitment to education in his region, and it is indeed 3 appropriate that he be recognized for his contributions as an 4 educator and historian; and

5 WHEREAS, Named Teacher of the Year for Orange County by the 6 Orange Leader, he retired in 2000 at the conclusion of an 7 outstanding career in education that spanned 35 years in 8 Orangefield and with St. Mary Catholic School; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Prouse headed the history department at 10 Orangefield Junior High School and ably served his colleagues in 11 several additional leadership posts, including as president of the 12 Orange County unit of the Texas State Teachers Association, the 13 Orangefield Classroom Teachers' Association, and the Orange County 14 Retired Teachers' Association; and

WHEREAS, An award-winning photographer, he contributed his impressive skills with a camera to the Orange Leader on a freelance basis and today continues his pursuit of photography as a hobby, as he does horseshoe pitching, an interest that has led him to participate in tournaments throughout the state; and

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Prouse has indulged his passion for history by 21 participating in Civil War reenactments as well as by serving in 22 various offices of the Sons of Confederate Veterans; and

23 WHEREAS, Wayne Prouse is an outstanding Texan who has helped 24 to make history come alive for his many students, and it is a

1

H.R. No. 1037

1 pleasure to honor him at this time; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 3 Legislature hereby commend Wayne Prouse for his exceptional 4 contributions in behalf of his fellow Texans and extend to him 5 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Prouse as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Hamilton

H.R. No. 1037

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1037 was adopted by the House on April 21, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House