By: Hunter H.R. No. 1039

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to 1 2 congratulate the Abilene Wylie Bulldogs' football team for winning 3 the 3A Division I State Championship on December 10th, 2004; and WHEREAS, The Abilene Wylie Bulldogs, led by Coach Hugh 4 5 Sandifer and quarterback Case Keenum, played an incredible game 6 against the previously undefeated Cuero Gobblers on December 10th, 2004 in the Class 3A Division I Championship, sealing the victory 7 with a last second 25-yard field goal by junior Tyler Driskill, 8 winning the championship 17 to 14, making their victory the first 9 football state championship in Wylie High School's history, and on 10 11 their way to the championship they defeated three ranked undefeated 12 Texas teams, including both the No. 1 and No. 2 ranked teams of 13 Texas; and 14 WHEREAS, The Wylie Bulldogs had 5 wins and 1 loss in district play and 11 wins and 3 losses in total season play; and 15 WHEREAS, The Abilene Wylie Bulldogs winning season is partly 16 a result of a great coaching staff, including Hugh Sandifer, Jeff 17 18 Crider, Kerry Hibbitts, Eddie Land, Terry Barrington, Clay Martin, Russell Perkins, Greg Ruffin, Kelly Smith, Darrell Dally, Joey 19 Rodriguez, Jim Corbin, Ray Alvarez, Ricky Bacon, Michael Elliott, 20 21 Luke Hurst, Grant Martin, and head trainer Laura Lange; and WHEREAS, The student-athletes on the winning team included 22 23 Trent Morris, Bryan Powell, John Sugay, Jacob Atkins, Aaron Edgar, Mason Yarbrough, Chase Browning, Cody Howdeshell, Paden McKinney, 24

H.R. No. 1039

- 1 Stetson Taylor, Scott Casselberry, Taylor Rand, Case Keenum, Aaron
- 2 Forbis-Stokes, Gary Edwards, Jared Scott, Josh Davis, Austin Sayre,
- 3 Tim Hibler, Kyle Massey, Chad Copeland, Jacob Jennings, Landon
- 4 Morriw, Blake Merriman, Adam Morrow, Josh Poorman, Michael Kiger,
- 5 Tyson Couch, Brady Bounds, Brad Galley, Levi Wolfe, Riley Whitaker,
- 6 Cody Ramoa, Jared Robertson, Randy Beaird, Sean Brady, Cody Mabe,
- 7 Britton Barbee, Cody Kirk, Brad Thomasson, Brian Ivy, Dana Miller,
- 8 Clint Corbin, John Hoyng, Abel DelaCruz, Clay Selby, Colt Johnson,
- 9 Cody Smart, Brad Beam, Trey Downey, Cameron Browne, Jon Patty, Luis
- 10 Gonzalez, Tyler Driskill, Sam Eldson, Tyler Crump, Chris Collum,
- 11 Bennett Simpson, Clark Channell, Josh Archer, Zac Taylor, Jeff La
- 12 France, Jordan Light, Haskell Hall, and Spencer Davis; therefore,
- 13 be it
- RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives recognize
- the astounding achievements made by the Abilene Wylie High School
- 16 Texas State 3A Football Champions; and that the Texas House of
- 17 Representatives extend congratulations to the Bulldogs on their
- 18 victory in becoming the first football team from their High School
- 19 to win the State Championship; and be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared and sent to the Abilene Wylie High School for display in
- their school.