H.R. No. 1082

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A little over 10 years ago, some of the worst 2 atrocities in the history of mankind took place in the African 3 country of Rwanda, and although the events passed largely unnoticed 4 by the rest of the world, a true hero emerged from that terrible 5 carnage and he is Paul Rusesabagina; and

6 WHEREAS, In April 1994, Mr. Rusesabagina was the acting manager of the luxury Mille Collines hotel in the capital city of 7 Kigali when the Hutu militia began brutally killing their Tutsi 8 neighbors; incited by the assassination of Rwandan president 9 Juvenal Habyarimana, Hutu extremist politicians blamed Tutsi 10 11 rebels for their leader's death and the streets were quickly filled 12 by Hutu militia, who killed the Tutsi business and political elite 13 before turning to ordinary citizens; and

WHEREAS, At its peak, the genocide claimed 8,000 lives per day, and before it was over, it is estimated that somewhere between 800,000 and one million Rwandans were murdered; and

WHEREAS, More than 1,000 Tutsis and moderate Hutus found a safe haven in Mr. Rusesabagina's hotel, which he turned into an impromptu refugee camp; the hotel had no defense against attacks, but with exceptional courage and conviction, this ordinary businessman managed to hold off the encroaching violence for 11 harrowing weeks and save the lives of most of the people he sheltered, including his own wife and children; and

24 WHEREAS, Now a businessman in Belgium, Mr. Rusesabagina

1

H.R. No. 1082

served as a special consultant on the 2004 United Artists film, *Hotel Rwanda*, which was inspired by his remarkable story; this powerful and moving motion picture earned three Academy Award nominations, including one for actor Don Cheadle, who played Mr. Rusesabagina in the movie; and

6 WHEREAS, A recipient of Amnesty International's Enduring 7 Spirit award and the Immortal Chaplains Foundation Prize for 8 Humanity, Mr. Rusesabagina continues to be involved in charity 9 organizations aiding survivors of the Rwandan tragedy and has set 10 up the Hotel Rwanda Rusesabagina Foundation to further help the 11 relief effort; and

WHEREAS, In these complex times, it is often difficult to do the right thing, but Paul Rusesabagina's inspiring story teaches us that it is possible for one man to make a profound difference if he is willing to put the welfare of others before his own; it is indeed a privilege to welcome Mr. Rusesabagina to the State Capitol; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 19 Legislature hereby honor Paul Rusesabagina for his extraordinary 20 humanitarianism and extend to him sincere best wishes for an 21 enjoyable visit to Texas; and, be it further

22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 23 prepared for Mr. Rusesabagina as an expression of high regard by the 24 Texas House of Representatives.

## Coleman

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

## H.R. No. 1082

Menendez

H.R. No. 1082

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1082 was adopted by the House on April 11, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House