H.R. No. 1119

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Memories of a life filled with joyful times, loving 2 moments, and meaningful accomplishments may comfort the family and 3 friends of Dr. James Perry Addison of Paris, who passed away on 4 September 27, 2004, at the age of 91; and

5 WHEREAS, A native Texan, Dr. Addison was born in Dallas on 6 August 15, 1913; he graduated from Oak Cliff High School and went on 7 to attend Baylor University College of Dentistry; and

8 WHEREAS, After proudly serving his country in the U.S. Navy 9 during World War II, Dr. Addison returned home to the Lone Star 10 State and established a successful dental practice at Preston 11 Center in Dallas; in later years, he volunteered countless hours to 12 the Wesley Community Center Dental Clinic, which has since been 13 renamed the James P. and Louise Addison Kiwanis Dental Clinic; and

14 WHEREAS, Throughout his career, this esteemed dentist lent 15 his talents to a host of professional organizations, serving as 16 director and vice-president of the Texas Dental Association, 17 director of the Dallas County Dental Society, and chairman of the 18 Texas Section of the American College of Dentistry, to which he was 19 also elected a fellow; and

20 WHEREAS, He was equally committed to bettering his community 21 and held the position as president of the Greater Lewisville 22 Chamber of Commerce, president of the Lewisville Library Board, and 23 director of Lewisville National Bank; moreover, his civic 24 leadership led him to be elected mayor in the 1970s; and

WHEREAS, A man who cherished his faith, Dr. Addison was a

25

1

1 valued congregant of Highland Park United Methodist Church and 2 later of the 1st United Methodist Church of Lewisville; he gave 3 unstintingly of his time, serving on the boards of the Waco 4 Methodist Home, the C. C. Young Memorial Home in Dallas, and the 5 Methodist Mission Home in San Antonio, where he and his wife were 6 instrumental in building the Addison-Barnes Maternity Center; and

7 WHEREAS, His extraordinary efforts earned him the 8 Outstanding Volunteer Award from the City of Dallas in 1987 and the 9 title of Dentist of the Year from the Dallas County Dental Society 10 in 1984; and

WHEREAS, James Addison had a lasting effect in the lives of countless individuals as a result of his professional and volunteer services, and though he is deeply missed, his memory will long endure in the hearts of all who were privileged to know him; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 17 Legislature hereby honor the life of Dr. James Perry Addison and 18 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, 19 Louise Voss Barnes Addison; to his children, Dr. James Henry 20 Addison, Louise Addison Taylor, and Paul Barnes Addison; to his 21 granddaughters, Elizabeth Louise Taylor and Lindsay Anne Taylor; 22 and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dr. James Perry Addison.

> Homer Denny

H.R. No. 1119

2

H.R. No. 1119

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1119

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1119 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 13, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House