H.R. No. 1129

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of the cities of Pharr, San Juan, and Alamo are gathering at the State Capitol to celebrate PSJA Day on

3 April 12, 2005; and

WHEREAS, The self-proclaimed City on the Rise, Pharr sits at
the crossroads of U.S. Highway 281 and Expressway 83, and houses
such noteworthy sites as the Pharr/Reynosa International Bridge,
Smitty's Juke Box Museum, and the Old Clock Museum; in 2004, the
city was designated a Main Street community by the Texas Historical
Commission, and its small-town charm continues to attract residents
and visitors alike; and

WHEREAS, Located in southern Hidalgo County, the city of San Juan was officially incorporated on December 29, 1917, and was named for John Closner, one of the Rio Grande Valley's largest landowners; it is home to the Basilica of the National Shrine of Our Lady of San Juan del Valle, which attracts thousands of visitors each year; and

WHEREAS, The city of Alamo is known as the land of two summers for the more than 20,000 residents who spend their winters in this mild environment; adjacent to the Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge, the city is a popular destination for nature lovers and visitors who enjoy attractions such as the Sunderland Cactus Garden, Saint Joseph Catholic Church, and Alamo Central Park; and

WHEREAS, The largest school district in Hidalgo County,
Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD is a progressive district that emphasizes

H.R. No. 1129

- 1 innovative educational programs for more than 27,000 students; and
- WHEREAS, The residents of Pharr, San Juan, and Alamo support
- 3 the growth of their cities by preserving their rich legacy and
- 4 preparing for a productive future, and it is a pleasure to honor
- 5 them on this special day; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby welcome the residents of Pharr, San Juan, and
- 8 Alamo and extend to them sincere best wishes for an enjoyable visit
- 9 to Austin.

Flores Martinez Gonzales

H.R. No. 1129

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Η.	. R .	No.	- 1	1	20

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1129 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House