RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends mourned the passing of James

Humphrey Marshall III of Burneyville, Oklahoma, who died on August

3 8, 2003, at the age of 60; and

WHEREAS, Born on July 23, 1943, in Dallas, Mr. Marshall

5 attended schools in Marfa, Albuquerque, Dallas, and Kerrville; he

earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in geography from the

University of Oklahoma and his administration certification from

8 the University of Tulsa; and

9 WHEREAS, A former superintendent of the Alpine Independent

School District, Mr. Marshall was a compassionate and spiritual

individual who derived much joy from his family and his love of

nature, astronomy, organic gardening, music, and running; although

he spent his final years in Oklahoma, he always reserved a special

14 place in his heart for the desert of West Texas; and

WHEREAS, Jim Marshall was a loving husband and father, who

16 was a much-treasured member of his community and will be sorely

missed by all those who were privileged to know him; now, therefore,

18 be it

2

6

7

10

11

12

13

17

20

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Jim Marshall and

21 extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,

Judith; to his sons, Robert Marshall and his wife, Alisha, and John

23 Marshall and his wife, Mandy; to his brother, John Mitchell

24 Marshall; to his grandson, Winston Chandler Marshall; to his

- 1 nieces, Erin Elizabeth Marshall and Lauren Michelle Armstrong and
- 2 her husband, John; to his nephew, Gregory Scott Marshall and his
- 3 wife, Leslie; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be
- 4 it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jim
- 8 Marshall.

Gallego

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1155 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 29, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House