H.R. No. 1167

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Terrie Morgan of Pearland has been honored by the
- 2 United Way of Brazoria County with its William D. Colegrove
- 3 Volunteer of the Year Award; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Recognized for her exceptional contributions to her
- 5 community, Mrs. Morgan accepted the accolade at the organization's
- 6 annual meeting and awards celebration on March 1, 2005, at the Lake
- 7 Jackson Civic Center; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The founder of the United Way of Brazoria County's
- 9 Women in Leadership Society, this esteemed Texan is having a
- 10 positive and lasting effect on her southeast Texas community
- 11 through her leadership and commitment in its behalf; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Mrs. Morgan is the professional development
- 13 coordinator for the Alvin Community College, Pearland Center, and
- 14 was the first marketing director of the Pearland Economic
- 15 Development Corporation; her idea of a masked ball to benefit the
- 16 Pearland Neighborhood Center has evolved into a highly anticipated
- 17 annual event that has brought in more than \$250,000 to fund the
- 18 programs and services of the center, which is a United Way partner
- 19 agency; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Terrie Morgan exemplifies the best in volunteer
- 21 leadership and professional achievement, and it is a pleasure to
- join in honoring her for her well-deserved tribute; now, therefore,
- 23 be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 1167

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Terrie Morgan on her receipt of the
- 2 William D. Colegrove Volunteer of the Year Award from the United Way
- 3 of Brazoria County and extend to her sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Morgan as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Dawson

| H.R. | No. | 1167 |
|------|-----|------|
| | | |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1167 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House