RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, It is especially important to the future of Texas

2 that our young people learn sound financial management, and to that

end, the month of April has been designated Youth Financial

4 Literacy Month; and

3

6

7

10

13

14

17

5 WHEREAS, Personal money management skills and lifelong

habits develop early, and while more than half of U.S. college

students acquire their first credit card during their freshman

8 year, few are prepared to handle this important responsibility; and

9 WHEREAS, Many parents feel ill-equipped to teach their

children how to shape their financial future, and schools offer

11 little in the way of formal education in this area; and

12 WHEREAS, Youth Financial Literacy Month heightens awareness

of this critical problem and provides an opportunity for young

Texans to learn about budgeting, saving, investing, and the use of

15 credit; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

Legislature hereby commend all those associated with Youth

18 Financial Literacy Month and encourage parents, teachers, and other

19 leaders to help their children and students gain practical money

20 management skills.

Woolley

H.R. No. 1172

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Olivo Bonnen Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Pena Hegar Burnam Callegari Phillips Herrero Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn Wong McCall Frost Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

			_	_	
H	R	$N \cap$	7	7	70

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1172 was adopted by the House on April 13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House