## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Jack Pope, former chief justice of the Texas Supreme Court, celebrated his 92nd birthday on April 18, 2005; and

WHEREAS, He was born in Abilene, Texas, was an outstanding student in academics and athletics throughout his schooling, including being elected student body president at Abilene Christian University, where he was graduated with honors in 1934, and completing his law degree at The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, This revered and distinguished jurist became the youngest district court judge in Texas at the age of 33, was later elected to serve as justice of the Court of Civil Appeals in San Antonio, was then elected in 1964 to the Texas Supreme Court, and was appointed in 1982 by Governor William P. Clements, Jr., as the chief justice; and

WHEREAS, He has served his alma mater as a member of the ACU National Development Council and as a member of the ACU Board of Trustees and was named the ACU Outstanding Alumnus of the Year in 1964; and

WHEREAS, His lifetime of public service culminated in the establishment of the Jack Pope Fellows Program at Abilene Christian University whereby young men and women complete a public service program preparing them to serve others throughout the world; and

WHEREAS, He and his late wife, Allene, reared two fine young sons, Jackson and Allan, and had a loving and enduring marriage for

- 1 more than 65 well-lived years; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives of the 79th
- 3 Texas Legislature honor Judge Jack Pope for his dedicated service
- 4 to the State of Texas and our great nation on this milestone
- 5 occasion in his life; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Judge Jack Pope and his family as an expression of high
- 8 regard and heartiest congratulations from the Texas House of
- 9 Representatives.

Hunter Branch Griggs Laney McReynolds

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1220 was adopted by the House on April 19, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House