RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Eagle Pass and Maverick County are 2 gathering at the State Capitol on April 20, 2005, to celebrate the 3 contributions of their region to the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, Maverick County was named for Samuel Augustus Maverick in 1856, and its county seat, Eagle Pass, is located on the Mexican border; originally named El Paso del Aquila because of the frequent flights of Mexican eagles over the area, the county seat was settled during the middle of the 19th century and has a unique history as a gateway to Texas from Mexico; and

WHEREAS, A favorite of tourists from across the state, Eagle and Maverick County are home to several historically significant sites, including Fort Duncan Park and San Juan Plaza; outdoor recreational activities abound at Maverick County Lake, and nearby Piedras Negras offers residents and tourists alike the opportunity to experience the charm of Mexico firsthand; and

WHEREAS, As a center for industry, commerce, tourism, and recreation, Maverick County and Eagle Pass occupy an enviable position in South Texas; both city and county governments are committed to the expansion and development of the region's many resources, including local infrastructure improvements, construction of an international trade and convention center, and preservation of historic sites; and

22

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

23

24

WHEREAS, Led by Maverick County Judge Jose A. Aranda, Jr., and Eagle Pass Mayor Chad Foster, members of the community visiting

- on this day have much to be proud of as they continue to work toward
- 2 building a bright and prosperous future for the area; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize April 20, 2005, as Eagle Pass and
- 6 Maverick County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the group
- 7 here today a warm welcome to Austin.

King of Zavala

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1253 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House