H.R. No. 1254

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Kingwood Mustangs captured the school's first 2 state basketball championship when they defeated DeSoto High School 3 54-52 in the UIL Class 5A title game on March 12, 2005, at the Frank 4 Erwin Center in Austin; and

5 WHEREAS, Led by Coach Royce Huseman, who has guided 6 Kingwood's boys' basketball team for the past 20 seasons, the 7 Mustangs finished their season with an impressive 37-4 record as 8 they went for the championship title; and

9 WHEREAS, Coach Huseman schooled this talented group of 10 student-athletes in hardcourt fundamentals, emphasizing the 11 importance of teamwork, commitment, and sportsmanship; he was aided 12 in his efforts by assistant coaches John Castles, Domonic Amorosa, 13 Mark Schrutka, and Rusty Odom, each of whom made valuable 14 contributions to the team throughout the long season; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Robert Friedrich, Nic Wise, Kolby Huseman, Chad Hamilton, Michael Singletary, Phillip Johnson, Gerry Murphy, Josh Simmons, Brian Heis, Gabe Kaim, Trevin Harris, Mike Dvorsky, Wes Christensen, Justin Winkfield, Keegan Bradley, and Dondre Wise; and

20 WHEREAS, The memory of winning a state championship will stay 21 with these young men for years to come, enduring as a symbol of 22 their hard work and dedication, and their justifiable pride in this 23 significant accomplishment will undoubtedly spur them to even 24 greater triumphs in the future; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1254

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Royce Huseman and the 3 Kingwood boys' basketball team on winning the state basketball 4 championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who 5 contributed to the team's successful season; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Crabb

H.R. No. 1254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1254 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House