H.R. No. 1260

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many young men and women from the Lone Star State 2 volunteered their service during the course of World War II, and it 3 was the willingness of these fine citizens to make any sacrifice 4 necessary for the cause of liberty that enabled our country to 5 survive with the many freedoms we cherish today still intact; and

6 WHEREAS, This year marks the 60th anniversary of the 7 conclusion of this momentous conflict, and the victory that was so 8 dearly bought by the members of our armed services and other Allied 9 forces remains to many the single most significant event of the 20th 10 century; and

11 WHEREAS, On April 3, 2005, a ceremony was held by the City of 12 San Antonio and the U.S. Department of Defense to honor those whose 13 courageous efforts helped to secure final victory for their nation; 14 and

WHEREAS, History has shown repeatedly that our democracy is only as strong as those valiant individuals on whom we rely to protect it; the sacrifices of the men and women who served in World War II remain undiminished by the passage of time, and it is fitting that they be honored as we commemorate the 60th anniversary of the conclusion of World War II; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 22 Legislature hereby pay homage to the brave U.S. soldiers who 23 defended this nation during World War II.

Castro

1

H.R. No. 1260

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodqe Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1260

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1260 was adopted by the House on April 29, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House