H.R. No. 1277

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The students on the Scientific Research, 2 Engineering, and Technical Services Showcase team from Stony Point 3 High School have made an impressive showing at the SkillsUSA state 4 competition; and

5 WHEREAS, This remarkable team presented a solar car at the 6 state competition, earning a first-place gold medal and trophy; the 7 car will participate in a race from the Dell Diamond in Round Rock 8 to Los Angeles, California, beginning on July 9, 2005; also this 9 summer, the students will travel to Kansas City, Missouri, to take 10 part in the SkillsUSA national competition; and

11 WHEREAS, The Scientific Research, Engineering, and Technical 12 Services Showcase team members include Cody Wyatt, Adam Lebreton, 13 Alec Duran, Cameron Straka, Daniel McCrea, Tony Walker, Brian 14 Hudson, Neil Ablack, Brandon Gibbs, and Joseph Generali; in 15 pursuing their goal, these committed young people have benefited 16 from the guidance and expertise of SkillsUSA head advisor James 17 McElhanon and advisor Ricardo Olvera; and

18 WHEREAS, Developing alternative sources of energy will be a 19 top priority for generations to come, and the efforts these Stony 20 Point High School students have made in this area have established 21 them as a source of tremendous pride to their school, families, and 22 community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby honor the Scientific Research, Engineering, and

1

H.R. No. 1277

1 Technical Services Showcase team from Stony Point High School for 2 presenting a solar car and earning a first-place gold medal and 3 trophy at the SkillsUSA state competition and extend to these 4 students sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Krusee

H.R. No. 1277

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1277 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House