H.R. No. 1280

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Plano East senior soccer player Lee Nguyen has been 2 selected as the 2004 Gatorade National High School Player of the 3 Year for his contributions on and off the soccer field; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

WHEREAS, A 5-foot, 8-inch, midfielder/forward, Mr. Nguyen led the Panthers with 22 goals and 18 assists in 2004, giving him 42 goals and 33 assists in two years; named to the 2004 Parade magazine All-American team, he plays on the U.S. Under-18 National Team; in January, while competing in the Copa Chivas Youth Tournament in Mexico, Mr. Nguyen scored a goal in the American team's come-from-behind victory over Holland; and

WHEREAS, In addition to acknowledging remarkable performance on the playing field, the Gatorade Player of the Year award emphasizes overall character and academic accomplishment; this exemplary young Texan's work ethic in the classroom has enabled him to maintain a 3.9 GPA and hold membership in the National Honor Society; moreover, Mr. Nguyen does volunteer work with handicapped children; and

18 WHEREAS, This outstanding student-athlete joins an impressive list of Gatorade honorees that includes such sports 19 luminaries as LeBron James and Peyton Manning, making him a source 20 21 of tremendous pride to his teammates and fellow students at Plano 22 East High School, his soccer coach Rick Woodard, and his family; 23 now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 1280

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Lee Nguyen on being named the 2004
- 2 Gatorade National High School Player of the Year and extend to him
- 3 best wishes for continued success as a student-athlete at Indiana
- 4 University; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Nguyen as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Madden

H.R. No. 1280

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1280 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House