H.R. No. 1281

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The congregants of Mount Zion First Baptist Church in San Antonio are deeply grateful for the ministry of their pastor, the Reverend Kenneth A. Allen, and on April 23, 2005, they are hosting an appreciation service and farewell reception in recognition of his notable tenure with the church; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

24

WHEREAS, In his role as pastor of Mount Zion since 1998, Reverend Allen has uplifted the hearts and spirits of many people who have sought his wisdom and counsel; he has worked diligently in behalf of the continued vitality of his church and helped to establish the education and growth ministry shortly after his arrival in San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, This highly regarded gentleman has been involved in a host of worthy organizations in the Alamo City, serving as chair of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Commission and as a member of the Integrity and Trust Commission, the Baptist Ministers Union, and the CCSA; an instructor at Guadalupe College, he has also benefited the Inner-Varsity Christian Fellowship Ministry through his involvement; and

19 WHEREAS, Reverend Allen has truly been a blessing in the 20 lives of countless people during his years of exceptional service 21 to his church and community, and his many good works have earned him 22 the lasting respect and admiration of all who know him; now, 23 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 1281

- 1 Legislature hereby commend the Reverend Kenneth A. Allen for his
- 2 outstanding tenure at Mount Zion First Baptist Church and extend
- 3 sincere best wishes to him as he begins an exciting new chapter in
- 4 his life with his move to Colorado; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Reverend Allen as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 1281

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1281 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House