H.R. No. 1299

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Charles Edward Taylor, who built the first engines 2 for Orville and Wilbur Wright's airplanes, made an incalculable 3 contribution to the development of aviation; and

WHEREAS, Born May 24, 1868, in Illinois, Mr. Taylor began working as a machinist for the two brothers at the Wright Cycle Company in Dayton, Ohio, in 1902; after six weeks on the job, he had built the first engine used to power the Wright Flyer, and his place in aviation history was secured with the Wright brothers' first successful flight at Kitty Hawk on December 17, 1903; and

WHEREAS, In the early years of the fledgling industry, Mr. 10 Taylor maintained a constant presence in aviation development; he 11 12 continued to design and build aircraft engines and accompanied the 13 Wright brothers to flight demonstrations in Europe, United States 14 government test flights in Fort Myer, Virginia, and further demonstrations at the Hudson-Fulton Exposition in New York; 15 moreover, he served as the mechanic for the first successful 16 transcontinental flight in the United States; and 17

WHEREAS, Mr. Taylor's career in aviation construction and maintenance spanned more than 60 years, and the Federal Aviation Administration has honored this achievement with the establishment of the Charles Edward Taylor Master Mechanic Award, which recognizes persons with 50 or more years of aviation maintenance experience; and

24

WHEREAS, Charles Edward Taylor played a fundamental role in

1

H.R. No. 1299 the early development of powered flight, and the exacting vocation he pioneered has become an essential part of the fabric of modern life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize May 24, 2005, as Aviation Maintenance
Technician Day in Texas in tribute to Charles Edward Taylor and to
all aviation maintenance technicians who have followed in his
footsteps.

Burnam

H.R. No. 1299

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1299 was adopted by the House on May 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House