## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Every day, more than 150 Texans die from 2 cardiovascular disease and stroke; and

WHEREAS, High blood pressure and elevated cholesterol levels are the primary risk factors for coronary heart disease, which is the nation's single leading cause of death; according to the American Heart Association, an estimated 100 million Americans have total blood cholesterol values of 200 mg/dl and higher, and nearly 40 million American adults have values of 240 or above, levels that constitute a major risk factor for coronary heart disease and stroke; and

WHEREAS, In order to identify these risk factors and promote cardiovascular disease awareness in Texas, AstraZeneca, a leading pharmaceutical company, is hosting Heart Healthy Day on May 3 at the State Capitol; free cholesterol and blood pressure screenings by qualified health care professionals will be offered from 10 a.m. to noon in the ground floor rotunda; other Heart Healthy information will also be available; and

WHEREAS, Education and early detection of heart disease risk factors can play a significant role in ensuring a person's health, and citizens throughout the state are encouraged to take advantage of the AstraZeneca sponsored screenings and learn more about the prevention of heart disease; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 24 Legislature hereby recognize May 3, 2005, as Texas Heart Healthy

- 1 Day at the State Capitol and commend AstraZeneca for its efforts to
- 2 promote healthy hearts in the Lone Star State.

Laubenberg

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1346 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House