H.R. No. 1364

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Those peace officers who lose their lives in the 2 line of duty are truly deserving of the gratitude of every Texan, 3 and it is with heavy hearts and a deep sense of indebtedness that we pay tribute to the memory of Senior Patrol Agent Travis Wayne 4 5 Attaway of the United States Border Patrol, who perished in the 6 waters of the Rio Grande on September 19, 2004, at the age of 31; and WHEREAS, Agent Attaway and two fellow officers were 7 conducting a patrol near Los Indios on that date when their craft 8 9 capsized in turbulent water; and

10 WHEREAS, Although a nearby patrol boat responded to the 11 distress signal quickly enough to save one of the officers, Agent 12 Attaway and another agent were lost in the rain-swollen river; and

WHEREAS, The possibility of such sudden and shocking loss of life is the constant companion of the nation's peace officers, who willingly and routinely face danger in behalf of their fellow citizens, and Agent Attaway's sacrifice is a sobering reminder of this dedication; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Senior Patrol Agent 20 Travis Wayne Attaway of the United States Border Patrol and extend 21 sincere sympathy to his family and friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Senior

1

H.R. No. 1364

1 Patrol Agent Travis Attaway.

King of Zavala Escobar

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1364

Menendez

H.R. No. 1364

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1364 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 9, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House