H.R. No. 1394

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas A&M--Commerce Lions basketball team
- 2 captured the 2005 Lone Star Conference (LSC) South Division
- 3 championship and went on to win the 2005 LSC postseason tournament;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Led by head coach Sam Walker, the LSC Coach of the
- 6 Year, the Lions completed the season with an impressive 28-5
- 7 record, including a 10-2 mark to take the division crown; assistant
- 8 coaches Roger Brown, Ross Hodge, and Ed King provided able
- 9 assistance throughout the season, each making vital contributions
- 10 to the team's success; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The Lions, who reached the Sweet 16 in the NCAA
- 12 Division II Tournament, received outstanding overall play from
- 13 all-tournament team selections Jermart Miller and Matthew Rager;
- 14 Mr. Miller earned additional recognition as the LSC Player of the
- 15 Year and the LSC Newcomer of the Year; and
- WHEREAS, The team's roster of talented juniors and seniors
- 17 also includes forward Chris Fantroy, forward Jason Rabb, guard
- 18 Kevin Walker, post Nick Goellner, guard Allen Walker, post Jonathan
- 19 Hopkins, forward Kevin Carter, and post Brandon Bowie; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Excellence on the hardwood requires a total
- 21 commitment to teamwork and fundamentals, and the members of the
- 22 2004-2005 Texas A&M--Commerce Lions basketball team will long
- 23 remember this outstanding season and its many challenges and
- 24 triumphs; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1394

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Sam Walker and the Texas
- 3 A&M--Commerce Lions for their achievements during the 2004-2005
- 4 season and extend best wishes to the many individuals who
- 5 contributed to the team's success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 1394

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1394 was adopted by the House on May 13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House