## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Melissa Miller for her commendable achievements and for 3 being named Miss San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of Stewart and Ellen Miller, this talented young lady distinguished herself among an impressive field of candidates in the Miss San Antonio Pageant, and in doing so she earned the pageant crown and an opportunity to compete at the Miss Texas Pageant; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Miss Miller, who celebrates her 21st birthday on May 3, 2005, began competing in pageants when she was 10 years old, at which time she competed in the Cinderella Scholarship Pageant and earned her first title, Texas State Miniature Miss; and

WHEREAS, Miss Miller is currently a junior at The University of Texas at Austin, where she is majoring in chemical engineering; she is a member of the Alpha Phi Sorority and Texas Toastmasters, and she serves as a Pan-Hellenic recruitment counselor and also as a volunteer at Sanchez Elementary School; and

WHEREAS, The poise and grace Miss Miller displayed in her pursuit of the Miss San Antonio title will undoubtedly serve her well throughout her life, and she is most deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Melissa Miller on being awarded the title of Miss San Antonio and extend to her best wishes for the

- 1 future; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for Miss Miller as a token of high regard by the Texas
- 4 House of Representatives.

Riddle

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1434 was adopted by the House on May 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House