H.R. No. 1462

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texas music is famous throughout the world for its 2 incomparable richness and variety, and among the most distinctive 3 of the styles that compose this bounty is the traditional Mexican

4 art form known as mariachi music; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

WHEREAS, Edinburg High School has emerged as a prominent incubator of young mariachi talent, and its outstanding showing in the Ford Motor Company 10th Annual Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza in San Antonio in December 2004 is eloquent testament to the excellence of the school's mariachi music program; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of a three-day workshop and competition that brought together almost 1,000 young practitioners of the mariachi's art, the Edinburg High School Mariachi Primer Orgullo made its presence known with moving and authoritative performances that secured the ensemble a tie for the third-place slot in the group competition category; and

WHEREAS, In dedicating themselves to the mastery of this beloved genre, the musicians of Mariachi Primer Orgullo have established themselves as worthy heirs to a proud tradition even as their fresh approach imbues the form with new energy and inspiration; and

21 WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Pena has justly recognized the 22 Edinburg High School Mariachi Primer Orgullo by passing this 23 resolution in its behalf during the Regular Session of the 79th 24 Texas Legislature; now, therefore, be it

## H.R. No. 1462

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Edinburg High 3 School Mariachi Primer Orgullo on their outstanding musicianship 4 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 5 be it further

House of Representatives.

8

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 7 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas

Pena

H.R. No. 1462

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1462 was adopted by the House on May 13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House