H.R. No. 1469

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Since its inception in 1998, the Macedonia Outreach
Center (MOC) has provided invaluable support to the underserved
communities of Houston; and

WHEREAS, Named in honor of Macedonia Baptist Church, which houses its headquarters, the MOC was founded by a group of women dedicated to addressing the challenges faced by many low-income residents of north, northeast, and southeast Houston; and

WHEREAS, This worthwhile organization provides its adult and 8 9 youth clientele with academic services and preparation, professional development certifications, employment assistance and 10 11 job readiness programs, a food and clothing bank, health education, 12 substance abuse prevention and intervention, after-school and summer programs, and HIV testing and counseling; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Under the exemplary leadership of chief executive officer Katherine West, MOC staff and volunteers have tirelessly 15 16 striven to help bolster the self-esteem and dignity of those they serve, while inspiring and motivating participants to make 17 significant changes in their lives that will not only positively 18 affect their personal well-being, but that of the community as 19 well; by promoting self-reliance, community pride, and good 20 21 citizenship, the MOC has benefited countless individuals and will undoubtedly continue to do so for many years to come; now, 22 23 therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the Macedonia Outreach Center for their outstanding efforts in behalf of the Houston community and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success with their important work; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the center as an expression of high regard by the Texas

7 House of Representatives.

1

2

3

4

5

6

Bailey

H.R. No. 1469

H.R. No. 1469

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1469 was adopted by the House on May 13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House