H.R. No. 1473

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Drs. Jorge Trevino, Rafael Garza, and Mario Ramirez 2 of Hidalgo and Starr Counties have each brought thousands of Texans 3 into the world and had a profound impact on their community and the 4 medical profession as practicing physicians for more than 50 years; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, These esteemed professionals have long been known 7 for maintaining high standards of care for their patients; when 8 they started their careers, each made house calls and charged five 9 dollars for an office visit; today, after more than five decades in 10 practice, Dr. Trevino still runs a clinic, while Drs. Garza and 11 Ramirez continue their work at an area hospital and mentoring 12 students who are pursuing careers in medicine; and

WHEREAS, Between them, these physicians have received countless awards and have served as inspiring role models for those who will follow in their footsteps; all three have distinguished themselves as president of the Hidalgo-Starr County Medical Society, and Drs. Garza and Ramirez have also acted as president of the Texas Association of Family Practice; and

WHEREAS, The health and well-being of our state's citizens depend on medical professionals like Drs. Trevino, Garza, and Ramirez, who treat their patients with compassion and wisdom; it is a privilege to join the citizens of Hidalgo and Starr Counties in recognizing nearly 50 years of service from these much-admired physicians; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1473

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Drs. Jorge Trevino, Rafael Garza, and 3 Mario Ramirez for their contributions to their community and to the 4 medical profession and extend to them sincere best wishes for 5 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for these outstanding physicians as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Flores

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1473

Menendez

H.R. No. 1473

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1473 was adopted by the House on May 4, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House