H.R. No. 1491

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Darold Williamson of San Antonio played a pivotal 2 role in claiming Olympic gold in the men's 1,600-meter relay in 3 Athens in 2004, sealing the American team's victory with an 4 inspired anchor leg; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Williamson and teammates Otis Harris, Derrick 6 Brew, and Jeremy Wariner continued America's recent dominance of 7 the 1,600-meter relay event, winning with a time of 2 minutes, 55.91 8 seconds--nearly 5 seconds ahead of second-place Australia and just 9 tenths of a second off the Olympic record; and

10 WHEREAS, A two-time Big 12 Conference champion in the 400 11 meters, Mr. Williamson joined the Baylor University track team 12 after a stellar career at Holmes High School; in 2002, he 13 established himself as a star by winning the world junior 400-meter 14 championship and U.S. junior 400-meter championship; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Williamson's fourth-place finish in the 400 meters at the U.S. Olympic trials earned him a place in the 1,600-meter relay pool, and his strong showing in the event's semifinal earned him the opportunity to anchor the American team in the main event and demonstrate his impressive speed and athleticism on sport's grandest stage; and

21 WHEREAS, With his impressive performance at the 2004 Athens 22 Olympic Games, Mr. Williamson has inscribed his name in the annals 23 of sports history, and his contributions to the U.S. Olympic team 24 have earned him the admiration not only of the citizens of Texas but

1

H.R. No. 1491 1 also of countless citizens throughout America; now, therefore, be 2 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Darold Williamson for winning gold at the 2004 Athens Olympic Games and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Williamson as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas Anderson Dunnam

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1491

Menendez

H.R. No. 1491

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1491 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House