RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Baylor University track and field star Jeremy
- 2 Wariner has achieved international acclaim for his record-breaking
- 3 performances in collegiate and Olympic competitions; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This Irving native won Olympic gold medals in the
- 5 400-meters and the 1,600-meter relay at the 2004 Olympic Games in
- 6 Athens, Greece; in addition, Mr. Wariner claimed the indoor and
- 7 outdoor 400-meter titles and was a member of the 1,600-meter relay
- 8 team that won both NCAA titles; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Mr. Wariner's outstanding achievements have made
- 10 him the first athlete in history to win both collegiate titles, the
- 11 U.S. Championship, and the Olympic gold medal in the 400-meters; he
- 12 has been named the Mondo Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year and the
- 13 Midwest Region Track Athlete of the Year; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of Coach Clyde Hart, Mr.
- 15 Wariner has excelled in the sport of track and field, demonstrating
- 16 the dedication and physical stamina of a world champion, and his
- 17 name is forever etched in the annals of sports history; now,
- 18 therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby congratulate Jeremy Wariner for winning Olympic
- 21 gold in 2004 and for his many other exceptional achievements in the
- 22 sport of track and field; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Mr. Wariner as an expression of high regard by the

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas Anderson Dunnam

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Pena Burnam Hegar Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1492 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House