RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Chaplain J. C. Straus remembers well the tragedy of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks, and the memory of the courageous individuals of the emergency services who gave their lives remains with him each day; and

WHEREAS, Chaplain Straus spent five weeks in New York City following the attack on the World Trade Center, working directly with the Fire Department of the City of New York; assigned to the 1st Battalion, he talked with many of the firefighters, EMTs, and police officers who survived Ground Zero and spent time assisting in the recovery efforts; and

WHEREAS, An ordained pastor, certified firefighter instructor, and registered EMT-Paramedic, Chaplain Straus is also the founder and executive director of Emergency Ministries; he currently works with more than 15 fire and EMS teams throughout eastern Texas and serves on a 9-1-1 medic unit in Harris County; and WHEREAS, This dedicated gentleman lends his time to such worthy organizations as the Federation of Fire Chaplains and the

International Critical Incident Stress Foundation; in addition, he runs a website for the Chaplaincy and has written two devotionals

that appear in the new Firefighter Bible; and

WHEREAS, For more than 25 years, Chaplain Skip Straus has provided vital counseling and support for the men and women of emergency services and has done much to comfort those in need, and it is indeed fitting that he be recognized at this time; now,

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commend Chaplain J. C. Straus for his brave
- 4 service following September 11, 2001, and for his continued
- 5 commitment to emergency service personnel; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Chaplain Straus as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Riddle

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1509 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House