H.R. No. 1514

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Brazos Higher Education Authority, Inc., is
celebrating its 30th anniversary on May 16, 2005; and

3 WHEREAS, Established three decades ago in Waco, the 4 organization began with the goal of helping area residents to 5 obtain affordable student loans; since that time, the Brazos Higher 6 Education Authority has become the largest not-for-profit holder of 7 FFELP loans in the country and is ranked sixth nationwide among all 8 FFELP loan holders; and

9 WHEREAS, In 1980, the Brazos Higher Education Service 10 Corporation, Inc., was established by Murray Watson, Jr., to 11 support the education-financing efforts of the authority; in 12 October of that same year, the authority issued its first bond issue 13 debt in the amount of \$6 million; and

WHEREAS, Today, Brazos is also committed to supporting the communities it serves in other ways; affirming the philosophy that "youth are our future leaders," the Brazos Group of companies has contributed to more than 40 charitable projects focused on children and educational opportunities and donated scholarship money to a number of institutions of higher education; and

20 WHEREAS, For 30 years, the Brazos Higher Education Authority 21 has enabled countless young people to successfully pursue their 22 dreams of a brighter future, and for its efforts, the organization 23 is truly deserving of special praise; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

H.R. No. 1514

Legislature hereby honor the Brazos Higher Education Authority,
Inc., on its 30th anniversary and extend sincere best wishes for
continued success to all those associated with this notable
organization; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the Brazos Higher Education Authority as an expression 7 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Dunnam Anderson

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1514

Menendez

H.R. No. 1514

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1514 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House