## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, David Leeson was awarded in April 2004 the Pulitzer
- 2 Prize for Breaking News Photography for coverage of the invasion of
- 3 Iraq; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Leeson spent nearly two months imbedded with the
- 5 U.S. Army's Third Infantry Division taking photos as U.S. forces
- 6 advanced on Baghdad, and the photos appeared on the pages of major
- 7 daily newspapers around the world; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In addition to receiving the Pulitzer Prize, Mr.
- 9 Leeson has received numerous other awards, including two Robert F.
- 10 Kennedy Journalism Awards, an Edward R. Murrow Award, an Emmy
- 11 Award, and the Outstanding Alumnus of the Year Award from Abilene
- 12 Christian University; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Mr. Leeson graduated from Abilene Christian
- 14 University in 1978 with a degree in journalism and mass
- 15 communication; he has worked for the Abilene Reporter-News and the
- 16 Times-Picayune/The States Item in New Orleans, and continues to be
- 17 a senior photographer for the Dallas Morning News since joining the
- 18 staff in 1984; and
- 19 WHEREAS, He has taken photos of armed conflicts in Angola,
- 20 Kuwait, and Nicaragua; civil wars in Panama, Peru, and Sudan;
- 21 apartheid in South Africa; homelessness in Dallas, Texas; the Gulf
- War; earthquakes in Turkey; and death row in American prisons; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Leeson is supported by his lovely wife, Kim
- 24 Ritzenthaler, who is also a photographer for the Dallas Morning

- 1 News; his mother and father of Abilene, Mr. and Mrs. Kirby Leeson;
- 2 and his sister of Abilene, Debra, and her friend, Stanley Wilson;
- 3 now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commend David Leeson for receiving the 2004
- 6 Pulitzer Prize for his coverage of the invasion of Iraq and for the
- 7 widespread respect he has earned for photojournalism; and, be it
- 8 further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Mr. Leeson as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Hunter Goolsby Noriega Griggs McReynolds

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1520 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House