H.R. No. 1531

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, San Antonio's Jose M. Lopez distinguished himself 2 through his legendary acts of bravery and valor as a member of the 3 United States Army during World War II, and it is indeed a privilege 4 to pay tribute to him at this time; and

5 WHEREAS, Sergeant Lopez ably served as a machine gunner in 6 the army's 23rd Infantry, 2nd Division, and for his selfless 7 actions he was named a recipient of the Congressional Medal of 8 Honor; he became the fourth American of Mexican descent to receive 9 this prestigious honor, and his heroism has inspired countless 10 individuals; and

11 WHEREAS, On December 17, 1944, with his company entrenched in 12 combat in Belgium, Sergeant Lopez single-handedly held off the 13 enemy with his heavy machine gun, protecting his company's flank 14 until it was able to safely withdraw from the area; and

WHEREAS, Virtually unprotected from enemy fire, he withstood the German artillery and fought back the advancing infantry; his decisive actions and remarkable courage prevented his company's position from being outflanked and saved the lives of many of his fellow soldiers; and

20 WHEREAS, At a time when courage and heroism are in high 21 demand, it is important to honor those heroes who led the way with 22 their selflessness and patriotism for those who have followed in 23 their footsteps, and Jose M. Lopez is most deserving of this 24 recognition; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1531

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby pay tribute to Sergeant Jose M. Lopez for his 3 courageous efforts during World War II and extend to him the 4 heartfelt gratitude and admiration of his fellow citizens; and, be 5 it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Lopez as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Uresti

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1531

Menendez

H.R. No. 1531

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1531 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House