H.R. No. 1535

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 40 years, Southwestern University's Legislative
Politics Internship Program has helped to develop future leaders by
offering students hands-on work experience; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1965, this important endeavor is one of the oldest organized undergraduate intern programs that offers experience with the Texas Legislature; and

7 WHEREAS, Currently participating in the program are: Jamie Baccus, serving in the office of State Representative Mary Denny; 8 Jo Cassandra Cuevas, serving in the office of State Representative 9 Norma Chavez; Jacob Henderson, serving in the office of State 10 Representative Mike Krusee; Elizabeth Hoffman, serving in the 11 12 office of State Representative Jerry Madden; Frederick Kaiser, 13 serving in the office of State Representative Warren Chisum; 14 Jonathan Kessler, serving in the office of State Representative Mark Homer; Kevin Livesay, serving in the office of State 15 Representative Brian McCall; Luke Martel, serving in the office of 16 State Representative Norma Chavez; Jason Modglin, serving in the 17 office of State Representative Robert Talton; Patricia Paxson, 18 serving in the office of State Representative Ken Paxton; Will 19 Seilheimer, serving in the office of State Representative Sylvester 20 21 Turner; Fanny Tang, serving in the office of State Representative Mark Strama; Lissa Terel, serving in the office of State 22 Representative Helen Giddings; and Ana Villalobos, serving in the 23 24 office of State Representative Chente Quintanilla; and

1

H.R. No. 1535

1 WHEREAS, During their internship, these dynamic young Texans 2 gain valuable knowledge of the legislative process and the issues 3 facing the legislators, while at the same time providing important 4 support services to the members; and

5 WHEREAS, The contributions of these outstanding students of 6 Southwestern University's Texas Legislative Politics Internship 7 Program are truly worthy of special recognition; now, therefore, be 8 it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 10 Legislature hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of 11 Southwestern University's Texas Legislative Politics Internship 12 Program and commend its 2005 participants for their exceptional 13 work throughout the session; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 15 prepared for the university and the interns as an expression of high 16 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Madden Denny Krusee Turner

2

H.R. No. 1535

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1535 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House