H.R. No. 1544

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Waco sporting goods dealer Frank Dickson has been selected for induction into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame in 2005 in a special category that honors people who have made significant contributions to the game; and

WHEREAS, A former football coach in Prairie Hill, where he also served as a basketball coach and superintendent of schools, Mr. Dickson moved to Waco in the 1950s and joined "Bull" Bradley at the old B&B Sporting Goods store, beginning an outstanding 50-year career in the business; and

WHEREAS, Today, Mr. Dickson co-owns B&B Athletics Supply with his son, Doug, and, at 76 years old, he still finds great reward in his work and enjoys coming to the office daily; in addition to meeting the equipment needs of the local citizenry, B&B is a vital resource for high school athletic departments throughout the area, offering Mr. Dickson the opportunity to provide personal service to countless high school coaches, and perhaps more than a little mentoring along the way; and

WHEREAS, Whether equipping a high school football squad or fitting a third-generation customer with his first baseball glove, Frank Dickson has played a positive role in Texas school sports for more than half a century, as shown by his own collection of memorabilia, the personal connections he's made with so many sports enthusiasts, and the lasting tribute he has received for performing a job he clearly loves; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1544

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 Legislature hereby congratulate Frank Dickson on his 2005 induction
 into the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame and extend to him
 warmest best wishes for continued fulfillment in his life's work;
 and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Dickson as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

 ${\tt Dunnam}$

H.R. No. 1544

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1544 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House