H.R. No. 1584

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Dallas celebrated the centennial 2 anniversary of Munger Place Historic District on the occasion of 3 the annual home tour on April 23 and 24, 2005; and

whereas, Founded by cotton gin manufacturer Robert S. Munger and his brother, Collett, in 1905, Munger Place was created as a carefully planned suburb just minutes from downtown Dallas by carriage ride; it was the first deed-restricted neighborhood in Texas, and the homes were required to have two stories and cost at least \$2,000; many of the city's leading businessmen and social elite soon settled in the district, which boasted an excellent infrastructure with paved streets and electric street lights; and

WHEREAS, By mid-century, many of the stately homes in Munger Place were in disrepair after a general decline in the neighborhood, which began during the Great Depression; in the mid-1970s, a group of pioneering urban dwellers reclaimed the area and began to restore the neglected properties; artists were especially attracted to the 12-foot ceilings, wide-open entry halls, and light-friendly windows that graced many of the homes; and

WHEREAS, With its determined new residents, the neighborhood experienced a rebirth and was eventually recognized by the U.S. National Register of Historic Places; today, with more than 250 households, the area represents the largest collection of Prairie-style homes in the country; and

H.R. No. 1584

- 1 WHEREAS, Nestled on the edge of downtown Dallas, Munger Place 2 is truly a historical oasis; its residents have lovingly restored
- 3 their homes with an eye to the past and a mind to the future, and it
- 4 is a privilege to recognize their accomplishments on this special
- 5 occasion; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby honor the 100th anniversary of Munger Place and
- 8 extend to all involved best wishes for the future.

Branch

H.R. No. 1584

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1584 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House