H.R. No. 1592

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Paisano Folklorico dancers of Big Bend High
School in Terlingua have distinguished themselves by winning the
Best Contemporary Dance competition in the Intermediate B Adult
Category at the Viva Aztlan Festival held in March 2005 in Lubbock;
and

6 WHEREAS, This event marks the group's fourth consecutive 7 winning year at the festival, and the talented young dancers of the 8 troupe prevailed despite being moved into a more competitive 9 category this year; and

10 WHEREAS, The group's accolades also included individual 11 medallions awarded to Carlos Lujan for Best Male Paisano Dancer and 12 to Sierra Lowe for Best Female Paisano Dancer; and

WHEREAS, The other members of Paisano Folklorico include Rachel Davila, Oscar Rios, Camila Brady, Eira Benavides, Elida Palma, Marina Rodriguez, Gabriel Gachuz, Judy Galindo, Eliseo Palma, Jesus Rodriguez, Edwin Garcia, Javier Garcia, Yudith Tercero, and Auden Tercero, and the aggregate talent of this ensemble is indeed impressive; and

WHEREAS, Under the direction of Janelle Brady, the group performed dances from the Mexican states of Chihuahua, Veracruz, and Nayarit, as well as a Spanish flamenco dance, and in their integration of traditional dance forms with contemporary sensibilities, the dancers of Paisano Folklorico have made a valuable and entertaining contribution to the rich cultural

1

H.R. No. 1592

1 heritage of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Paisano Folklorico dancers of Big Bend High School in Terlingua on winning the Best Contemporary Dance competition in the Intermediate B Adult Category at the Viva Aztlan Festival and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the dancers as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 1592

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1592 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House