RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Officer Bruce Seix of the Grand Prairie Police 2 Department has risen above and beyond the call of duty, and his

3 heroic actions indeed merit special legislative recognition; and

WHEREAS, On June 18, 2004, Officer Seix and Sergeant Greg

Hunter were involved in a shooting that left Sgt. Hunter and the

assailant dead and Officer Seix critically wounded; and

7 WHEREAS, In recognition of his valor on this occasion, as

well as his exceptional tenure with the department, Officer Seix

has been awarded a number of accolades, including the Police

Shield, the Medal of Honor, and the Greater Dallas Crime Commission

11 Officer of the Year award for 2004; and

12 WHEREAS, This exemplary Texan has been a valuable member of

the department since 1995 and has served with the TAC team and as a

motorcycle officer, detective, and patrol officer; prior to his

15 career in Grand Prairie, he worked as a jailer and peace officer

16 with the Victoria County Sheriff's Office; and

17 WHEREAS, Bruce Seix has distinguished himself as a police

officer of unwavering courage, and it is most fitting to honor him

19 for his heroism and his dedication to ensuring public safety; now,

20 therefore, be it

5

6

8

9

10

13

14

18

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

22 Legislature hereby commend Bruce Seix on his outstanding record of

23 service as a police officer and extend to him sincere best wishes

24 for the future; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Officer Seix as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Allen of Dallas

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1604 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House