H.R. No. 1608

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Joseph Domino of Beaumont is receiving a 2005 2 Distinguished Alumni Award from Lamar University in recognition of 3 his outstanding professional career and his record of public 4 service; and

WHEREAS, A 1975 graduate of Lamar University with a master's degree in electrical engineering, Mr. Domino is president and chief executive officer of Entergy Texas and an active leader of professional and civic organizations across Southeast Texas; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman joined Gulf State Utilities as a planning engineer 35 years ago; he became plant manager of the Sabine Plant in Bridge City and general manager of production responsible for the company's fossil-fueled generation assets; after Gulf State Utilities merged with Entergy in 1994, Mr. Domino became director of the company's southern and eastern region fossil plants, and in 1998, he was named president and chief executive officer; and

WHEREAS, Among the organizations to which Mr. Domino has contributed his time and expertise are the Beaumont Chamber of Commerce, the Beaumont Economic Development Foundation, the Boy Scouts of America, the Foundation for Southeast Texas, and the Texas Energy Museum Board; and

WHEREAS, A devoted husband and father, Joe Domino is truly an inspiration to his colleagues and neighbors, who undoubtedly respect and admire his commitment to his work and to his community,

H.R. No. 1608

- and it is a privilege to join them in honoring his accomplishments;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Joseph Domino for receiving a 2005
- 5 Distinguished Alumni Award from Lamar University and extend to him
- 6 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Domino as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Ritter Deshotel

H.R. No. 1608

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1608 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House