RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On June 5, 2005, members and friends of New Hope Missionary Baptist Church in Wheelock are marking an important 2 3 occasion as they celebrate the dedication of their historic church bell in memory of Sam and Lucy Bell Stubbs Mitchell; and 4 5 WHEREAS, In the early 1900s after the death of her husband, 6 Mrs. Mitchell gave the congregation permission to build a church on

her property; the Mitchells' son, Elijah, later served as a bell ringer, and his daughter, lifelong Wheelock resident Estelle Mitchell Adams, coordinated the campaign to restore the bell; Mrs.

Adams fondly remembers her father ringing the bell during her childhood, though it was stilled for nearly 70 years after falling 11

12 from its tower onto the grassy churchyard; and

7

8

9

10

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Estimated to be about two centuries old, the recently restored bell has played a key role in the life of countless individuals in the close-knit church and surrounding community; depending on the number of its melodious rings, it has signaled many a call to worship as well as notified area residents of myriad births and deaths of family and friends; and

WHEREAS, The church bell of New Hope Missionary Baptist Church is a vital link to the rich history of Robertson County and the Lone Star State, and the dedication of its beloved church bell is truly an event to celebrate; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate all those affiliated with New Hope

H.R. No. 1632

- 1 Missionary Baptist Church on the dedication of their church bell
- 2 and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas Dunnam

H.R. No. 1632

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1632 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House