H.R. No. 1648

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable James A. Barnett, Jr., is retiring as 2 mayor of Freeport in 2005, bringing to a close 12 years of dedicated 3 service to his fellow citizens; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Barnett has guided the city through many challenging times and has played an important role in the revitalization currently underway; he has worked not only for improvements in existing city services, infrastructure, and business procedures, but also to bring new businesses to the area;

9 and

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has clearly had a vision for the city of Freeport, as evidenced by his involvement in local beautification efforts as well as in the town's selection as a Main Street City; he has also actively worked towards an urban renewal project to develop 400 acres of homesites; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Barnett has further demonstrated his commitment to the community by serving on the Houston-Galveston Area Council and the Freeport League; moreover, he and his wife, Sandra, have been active supporters of Riverfest and the Safety Town program in area schools; and

WHEREAS, A longtime resident of this coastal town, James Barnett has earned a reputation for honesty and openness; a former newspaper editor, he has brought that same journalistic integrity and sense of fairness to his role as mayor, and he leaves behind a legacy of accomplishment that will surely benefit countless area

H.R. No. 1648

- 1 residents for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the Honorable James A. Barnett,
- 4 Jr., on the occasion of his retirement as mayor of Freeport and
- 5 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mayor Barnett as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen

H.R. No. 1648

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1648 was adopted by the House on May 13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House