RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. John Dale Coble of Rockwall was named the 2004 2 Optometrist of the Year by the American Optometric Association and 3 the Texas Optometric Association; and

WHEREAS, Before beginning his medical career, Dr. Coble served his country in the U.S. Army, during which time he earned the national defense service medal and the expert rifle award for his meritorious service; he later joined the Texas National Guard and was a member for several years before receiving an honorable discharge in 1980; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed practitioner began his professional training in Denton, Texas, in 1977 and was soon thereafter certified by the American Board of Opticianry and the Opticians Association of Texas; he continued his education at Brookhaven Community College, North Texas State University, and the University of Houston College of Optometry; as a student, he served as president of the Texas Optometric Student Society, placement symposium planning coordinator, and a member of the dean's honor code committee and earned an Excellence in Leadership award; and

WHEREAS, Since graduating with a doctor of optometry degree in 1986, Dr. Coble has practiced in Denton and Greenville; highly regarded by his peers, he is a former president of the Texas Optometric Association and a member of its board of directors and has also served on committees of the American Optometric

Association; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Equally impressive are Dr. Coble's civic
- 2 involvements and affiliations, which include the Greenville
- 3 Chamber of Commerce, Hunt County United Way, the Rotary Club of
- 4 Greenville, the Boy Scouts of America, the PTA, Leadership Denton,
- 5 and Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Denton County; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The loving husband of the former Patricia Lynn
- 7 Prewitt and proud father of Marguerite Ashley and Jonathan Brent,
- 8 Dr. Coble is a true inspiration to all who are privileged to know
- 9 him, and through his devotion to professional excellence, he has
- 10 distinguished himself as one of the nation's top optometrists; now,
- 11 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. John Dale Coble on being named
- 14 the 2004 Optometrist of the Year by both the American and Texas
- 15 Optometric Associations and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 16 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Dr. Coble as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Laubenberg

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1650 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House