## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dallas-based Texas Instruments, Incorporated, is celebrating its 75th anniversary on May 16, 2005, and this memorable occasion provides a fitting opportunity to take note of this technology innovator and the generations of Texans who have contributed to the company's success; and WHEREAS, Since its inception, TI has been a leading developer

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, Since its inception, TI has been a leading developer of technologies that have affected the world and has pioneered improvements in reflection seismology, defense and space electronic systems, integrated circuits, digital signal processing, and analog technologies; and

WHEREAS, In addition to its impressive technological and business success, TI has consistently established the highest standards for corporate engagement in behalf of the community; the company and its employees are committed to education and diversity initiatives, and TI has donated more than \$89 million in the last 10 years to philanthropic organizations across the state and the nation; in addition, the company's founders, Erik Jonsson, Eugene McDermott, Cecil Green, and Patrick Haggerty and their families have a legacy of charitable giving that has benefited civic, educational, and human service entities around the world; and

WHEREAS, In 1989, TI began a formal program to identify and develop minority-owned and women-owned business enterprises as suppliers and has spent more than \$2 billion with these firms; and

24 WHEREAS, Texas Instruments has received numerous awards and

- 1 honors for its business practices; it has been named one of the best
- 2 companies for working mothers by Working Mother magazine and one of
- 3 "America's most admired companies" by Fortune magazine, and it has
- 4 also won two Emmy Awards for its digital light processing
- 5 technology; and
- 6 WHEREAS, In October 2004, Texas Instruments rededicated
- 7 itself to the future of the state by breaking ground on a new \$3
- 8 billion semiconductor manufacturing plant in Richardson; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The company has revolutionized the way people use
- 10 technology in their daily lives and secured a position for the
- 11 American semiconductor industry in the global marketplace, and it
- 12 is truly deserving of special recognition and praise; now,
- 13 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby congratulate Texas Instruments, Incorporated,
- on the occasion of its 75th anniversary and extend to all those
- 17 associated with the company sincere best wishes for continued
- 18 success and achievement; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for Texas Instruments as an expression of high regard by
- 21 the Texas House of Representatives.

Hill

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1655 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House