## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Latina Crown USA is dedicated to making a positive
- 2 difference in the lives of young women through an innovative,
- 3 community-supported beauty pageant system; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Committed to reshaping the local and national
- 5 landscape of the Latina experience, this commendable enterprise
- 6 aims to inspire women of Latin American origin to value continuing
- 7 education and to encourage pride in their rich cultural heritage;
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, Within the Lone Star State, the Texas Latina Crown
- 10 USA pageant offers women an opportunity to compete in Teen, Miss,
- and Mrs. contests, while creating role models in each category who
- 12 portray poise, competence, and beauty; and
- WHEREAS, Participants in this year's competition present on
- 14 this day include: Vanessa Rodriguez, Beatriz Marlene Casto, Libna
- 15 Ontiveros, Nicole Korrodi, Martha Patricia Gallegos, Ana Karina
- 16 Melendez, Ana Laura Martinez, Evangelina Lopez, Angeles Gonzalez,
- 17 January Salgado, Daniela Vazquez, Elizabeth Herrera, Cecilia Marie
- 18 Regan, Beverly Aleman, Diana R. Foster, and Jeanne P.
- 19 Lopez-McKenney; and
- WHEREAS, Also at the Capitol today are 2005 Miss Teen Texas
- 21 Latina Cinthia Ramos and Mrs. Texas Latina Blanca Lizama as well as
- 22 staff members Laura Marisol Salinas, Fernando Velazquez de Leon,
- 23 and Victor Aaron Cacho Habich; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Created by beauty queen, entrepreneur, and news

- 1 anchor Jackeline Cacho, this pioneering pageant provides Latinas
- 2 with an important avenue by which to increase their self-confidence
- 3 and to further their education by earning scholarship money, and
- 4 this outstanding endeavor is truly worthy of special recognition;
- 5 now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby commend Latina Crown USA for its contributions
- 8 to the Latinas of the Lone Star State and extend to all those
- 9 associated with the organization sincere best wishes for a
- 10 memorable pageant; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Castro Uresti

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1661 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House